top of page

The belt system

There are 10 Kyu (coloured belts)  and 10 Dan (black belt levels) in JKA karate. To obtain certification for each rank, you must fulfill the certification requirements and complete the testing procedure. Testing—or grading—is carried out by a panel of authorised  instructors.


Typically, JKA Shotokan Ireland Kyu grading takes place three times a year at club level. In order to be eligible for testing, you must first have gained the appropriate amount of continuous experience at your current rank. JKA Dan gradings are held at specially organised courses.

Kyu Grading Syllabus


The kyu grading syllabus is available here

 Dan Grading Syllabus

The Dan grading syllabus is available here


bottom of page